Southern Excellence Awards

Southern Excellence Awards

Property Council New Zealand's South Island Branch proudly present the annual Southern Excellence Awards, to be held on Friday 5 October 2018 at the Air Force Museum in Christchurch.

These Awards aim to acknowledge and applaud the people in property, the crusaders who have paved the way and whose vision will shape our cities and towns for future generations. Coming together as the property industry, the Awards night recognises and celebrates outstanding leadership and innovation in the South Island industry – this event has quickly become a fixture on the local property calendar.

This year we introduce the Buchan Pre-dinner Welcome Function, an exclusive networking opportunity run prior to the Awards Dinner where guests can mix and mingle while warming up for the big night ahead.


The South Island Branch Executive are delighted to announce the following nominees for this year's Southern Excellence Awards.

Greenwood Roche Young Achiever of the Year Award

Shaun Boldock, Corbel Construction
Nick Flack, Christchurch International Airport Limited
Keeley Pomeroy, AECOM
Keegan Marsh,  Rawlinsons Limited
Nick O’Styke, Bayleys Canterbury

Resene Urban Design Award

Developments by 181 High Ltd 
KPI Rothschild Property Group Developments
Waterloo Business Park

WSP Opus Best Team Award

The Crossing Retail Precinct Team – Southbase Construction
The Terrace Development Project Team – Hawkins, RCP, Hereford Holdings Ltd and The Terrace on Avon Ltd
Mainfreight Air and Ocean Facility Project Team – Mainfreight and Calder Stewart
The Dunedin Law Courts Project Team – Ministry of Justice, Amalgamated Builders, RDT Pacific, Stephenson & Turner, Aurecon, PHC Limited and Ian Bowman
Linwood North School Hall Project Team – Corbel Construction, MOE, Greenstone and DD Architects

GHDWoodhead creativespaces Property Professional of the Year Award

Tim Raateland, Tinline Property Management Ltd
Lawrie Saegers, Rawlinsons Limited
Dr Jan Kupec, Aurecon

A huge congratulations to all nominees. The judging process is now underway with winners to be announced at the Southern Excellence Awards will be taking place at the Air Force Museum of New Zealand in Christchurch on Friday 5 October 2018.

Awards Categories

To view photos from the 2017 Awards, please click here.

Key Dates

 Registrations & nominations open  NOW!
 Nominations closed Friday 3 August
 Awards Dinner Friday 5 October

Awards Sponsors

Special thanks to our event sponsors:











2017 Award Winners

Greenwood Roche Young Achiever of the Year Award
Fiona Short, Warren and Mahoney

Resene Urban Design Award
Oi Manawa - Canterbury Earthquake National Memorial, GHD

WSP Best Team Award
Christ's College Kitchen Tower Team, Holmes Consulting, Naylor Love Construction, Wilkie + Bruce, One4 Limited

GHDWoodhead creativespaces Property Professional Award
Brady Cosgrove, Cosgroves

The Buchan Group Outstanding Leadership Award
Don Miskell, Miskell Consultancy

Kirk Roberts Engineering Long Service Award
Hamish Doig, Colliers International

Anderson Lloyd Judges Choice Award
Charlotte McKirdy, Parker Warburton Team Architects
Tom Chatterton, Rider Levett Bucknall

Property Council South Island Supreme Award
Oi Manawa - Canterbury Earthquake National Memorial


For further information contact the South Island Branch Manager, Amelia Flynn 

M +64 22 470 2926