About the Awards

About the Awards

The prestigious Property Council New Zealand Rider Levett Bucknall Property Industry Awards are presented to outstanding property developments or refurbishments across New Zealand. Above all, the Awards recognise buildings that provide an outstanding return and/or delivery of service potential on investment of funds. For some this means a return on speculative investment; for others it means creating a development that supports productive activities, which creates value for both owners and users. 

Submissions are assessed based on the following principals

  • Economic and financial criteria
  • Project vision and innovation (includes degree of difficulty)
  • Design and construction
  • Owner and user satisfaction
  • Sustainability and efficiency of operation.

There are 11 award categories and one Supreme Award winner

  • Housing New Zealand Multi-Unit Residential Property Award
  • GIB Education Property Award
  • RCP Commercial Office Property Award
  • Holmes Consulting Group Tourism and Leisure Property Award
  • Natural Habitats Urban Land Developments Property Award
  • Yardi Retail Property Award
  • CBRE Industrial Property Award
  • Warren and Mahoney Civic and Arts Property Award
  • Fagerhult NZ Health and Medical Property Award
  • Hawkins Heritage and Adaptive Reuses Property Award
  • Resene Green Building Property Award
  • Rider Levett Bucknall Supreme Award

Merit is awarded to properties that the judges deem to have “something special” about the way in which the development or project was undertaken. There may be multiple Merit Award winners in each category.

Excellence Award winners are presented to properties that are deemed to be amongst the best in their chosen category, and that symbolise excellence within the property industry across all aspects of the evaluation. There may be multiple Excellence Award winners in each category.

Best in Category winners are awarded where a property stands out as the “best of the best” against the other entries in their category. There is only one Best in Category Award winner in each category with these properties also in the running for the overall Supreme Award.

The Awards Dinner is the biggest party in property - where over 1600 guests come together to collectively applaud our winners and celebrate their achievements.



Upon nomination, all entrants are invited to complete an Awards Submission that details all facets of the development, from project costs, potential return, design, construction, sustainability and efficiency to tenant and owner testimonials, project vision, innovation and a host of category-specific criteria. 
All nominees are subject to a rigorous judging process, where our panel of experts evaluate the buildings both on paper and in person, visiting nearly 100 properties to assess each project individually. Upon completion of the site visits, our judges reconvene to deliberate on their scores and reach an agreement on the Best in Category, Excellence and Merit Award winners for each category as well as the Supreme Award winner.

Property Council gives special thanks to our panel of judges, who have dedicated considerable time and expertise evaluating submissions and participating in site visits. Their diligence and knowledge ensure the process is robust and enables us to bring these awards to you each year.

Judging Panel

Andrew Evans, Independent Director (Chief Judge)
Alaina Beattie, Cushman & Wakefield
Alex Cutler, Urban Constructs
Barry Copeland, Copeland Associates Architects
Brendon Dwyer, Beca
Christina van Bohemen, Sills van Boheman Architects
Daniel Henderson, Auckland International Airport
Helen O’Sullivan, Ockham Residential
Jeremy Whelan, Ignite Architects
Mark Parlane, Colliers International
Richard Anderson, Rider Levett Bucknall
Tristian Ilich, Aurecon

Green Judges

Andrew Eagles, New Zealand Green Building Council
Matt Lee, Mesh Consulting
Simon Wilson, RDT Pacific
Mark Fraser, HLC