Diversity & Inclusion

Ryan Johnson, Leonie Freeman, Jason Walker and Kathy Mac Dermott presenting as the Diversity Panel at National Conference 2018.

There is no denying that a diverse industry is a more adaptive industry.

The property industry is not alone in facing the challenge of enticing a more diverse array of talent to our sector. Diversity is not just about making sure we don't employ clones of ourselves, it is about encouraging diversity of thought within our organisations to ensure we tackle problems from all angles, utilising our collective experience to produce exceptional solutions. We can do more to foster the next generation of property leaders, particularly those from groups who have been under-represented in the past.
In August 2018, Property Council established our inaugural Diversity Committee, a group of 16 property leaders gathered from the 60+ respondents to our earlier call for expressions of interest. Chairing this committee is Ryan Johnson from Bayleys Real Estate and Mandy Waldin from Goodman NZ, who will be leading the charge on a series of initiatives over the coming months. The development of a Diversity Committee within our membership is the first step towards accepting this challenge and collaborating to find solutions. Improving diversity across our industry will have many long-term benefits and many individual members are making significant progress in this area. However, there is certainly a great deal more we can, and should be doing. 
National President John Dakin, along with the National Council are committed to Property Council New Zealand taking industry leadership in this area and supporting our membership through this initiative with a group of passionate and committed people, including Sara-Jane Evans from the Property Council leadership team.

This initiative has been woven into our strategic plan under our Industry Leadership objective:

We are an industry leader that champions inclusion and diversity throughout the property industry.

Watch this space for further announcements.

Diversity Committee

Thank you to the following property leaders who have donated their time and expertise to champion diversity in the New Zealand property industry.

 Ryan Johnson  Bayleys  Co-chair 
 Mandy Waldin Goodman NZ  Co-chair
 Mark Thomson  Auckland International Airport  
 Lauren Joyce Precinct Properties 
 Tamzin Letele AECOM 
 Angelika Cutler Panuku Development 
 Andrew Stringer  CBRE 
 Ashley Parker Colliers International 
 Patrick O'Reilly Trust Management 
 Jane Holland Bell Gully 
 Rebecca McDonald   Air New Zealand 
 Edith Boettcher The Woolstore Management Limited  
 Kylie Eagle Kiwi Property Group 
 Patricia Green  MinterEllisonRuddWatts 
 Kristen Neri Taylors 
 Clare Piper Christchurch City Council 


For further information, please contact:

Sara-Jane Evans | T 09 373 3540 | E sj@propertynz.co.nz