A unified vision for the Waikato

Property Council's Waikato Branch advocates for a thriving commercial property industry that has a positive impact on the city and its people. We have a team of dedicated volunteers working to make a difference, on local governance, financial policy, urban design, the District Plan.

I'd like to see the Waikato have a unified vision for a competitive region that can attract and retain businesses and families. Our branch has opened the way for discussion.

Look out for upcoming events and take the opportunity to network and speak to other members and the branch executive team.

Thomas Gibbons
McCaw Lewis Lawyers
Managing Director


Economic Impact Assessment Report

The Waikato Branch and Hamilton City Council have commissioned a report into the economic impact of the industry in the region.The report was conducted by BERL and presents estimates of the direct economic impact of the property industry in the Waikato region, Hamilton City and the various local authority districts. These are measured in terms of the expenditure, GDP and employment of the various building, construction, real estate and other businesses operating in the industry. The property industry in Hamilton contributed more than a billion dollars in GDP to the city’s economy and provided nearly 15,000 full time jobs in 2013. As a whole the industry contributed nearly $3 billion in GDP to the region’s economy and provided nearly 40,000 full time jobs in 2013. See the full report HERE.

Latest news

Property Council’s prestigious We Are Waikato 2016 Awards have been announced at a vibrant sold-out event in Hamilton, featuring fire-eating performers and an attendance by Theresa Gattung, cofounder of My Food Bag.

Read More

Property Council New Zealand welcomes the re-establishment of Hamilton Properties Limited (HPL), a Hamilton City Council owned development company.

Read More

CBD should be supported

15/04/16 2:49 PM

Exodus of 500 workers from Hamilton’s CBD is a major blow to the city centre.

Read More

We Are Waikato Awards

The annual We Are Waikato Awards, established in 2011, provide an opportunity for the Branch to celebrate and recognise inspiring contributions to the region's built environment and the local economy.

Held in October, this is your chance to come together and network in a formal setting to reflect on achievements and be part of a prestigious local awards ceremony. There are six established awards categories, along with a judges choice award:

  • Young Achiever of the Year - Steven Alsemgeest Memorial Award
  • Long Service Award for Outstanding Contribution
  • Property Industry Associate of the Year
  • Outstanding Leadership
  • Urban Design and Architectural Merit
  • Best Regional Project Team

Click here to view the Photo Gallery of this year's awards.

Find out more about the We Are Waikato Awards.

Who is involved?

Executive Committee

Thomas Gibbons McCaw Lewis Lawyers (President)
Graeme Ward Wintec (Vice President)
Brian Squair Chow:Hill (Vice President)
Robert Dol Greenstone Group
Bevan Houlbrooke CKL
Judith Makinson TDG
Andrew Brown TGH
Dave Moule Boffa Miskell
Roger Middleton ANZ
Joan Forret Harkness Henry
Jason Smith ECS Group
Geoff Felton Colliers International
Matt Stark Stark Property
Ross Hargood Hawkins
Mark Ritchie Fletcher Construction
Richard Graham Fonterra
Mike Neale NAI Harcourts

How to get involved

Please contact the branch coordinator, Tracey Plank - tracey@propertynz.co.nz, for more information.